Above you find the music video to Linkin Park’s “The Catalyst” off of their newest album A Thousand Suns. The song itself strays away from the classic Linkin Park sound that everybody knows and loves, but let me just say, this song is catchy. Listen to it once and you’ll have it stuck in your head for hours, if not days. It starts out upbeat and continues that way until the final minute or so. The song transitions to a slower ending and I think it’s a perfect way to conclude the song. People have been giving Linkin Park a hard time as of late, saying that they’re becoming too mainstream and straying away from their original sound (I was a part of this group for Minutes to Midnight), but give A Thousand Suns a chance, it seems like a decent album so far. Yeah it doesn’t sound like Hybrid Theory or Meteora, but is that necessarily a bad thing? I loved those albums too, but I wouldn’t mind some new music every now and then. So go into new music with an open mind; you might be pleasantly surprised and find some new favorites!

Something about “The Catalyst” that shouldn’t be overlooked is the music video. MAKE SURE YOU WATCH IT! It is unbelievable. I don’t even know what’s going on it half the time, but you just can’t look away from it. It matches up with the song perfectly. The first time I watched it was also the first time I listened to the song, and I sat there with my jaw on the floor. I hope you all enjoy “The Catalyst” as much as I do, but if not, go ahead and throw on some Hybrid Theory and reminisce about “their old stuff”. Speaking of which, does anybody know why the common thing to say about bands is that “their old stuff” was good? Me neither. Probably just another example of people hating change.

